The Ritual Bath: The First Decker/Lazarus Novel (Decker/Lazarus Novels)

By Faye Kellerman

Detective Peter Decker of the LAPD is surprised while he will get the file. a person has shattered the sanctuary of a distant yeshiva neighborhood within the California hills with an incredible crime. one of many girls was once brutally raped as she lower back from the mikvah, the bathhouse the place the detoxing ritual is played.

The crime was once known as in by means of Rina Lazarus, and Decker is relieved to find that she is a relaxed and clever witness. She can also be the one one within the sheltered group prepared to talk of this unspeakable violation. As Rina attempts to lead Decker during the maze of non secular legislation, the 2 develop nearer. yet sooner than they unravel this horrendous crime, revelations come to mild which are so surprising, they threaten to come back among the hard-nosed cop and the deeply non secular lady with whom he has turn into irrevocably linked.

Show description

Read more

The Scarpetta Factor: Scarpetta (Book 17)

By Patricia Cornwell

Within the remarkable new novel by way of Patricia Cornwell-the world's number one bestselling crime writer-forensic professional Kay Scarpetta is surrounded via typical faces, but touring down the unexpected highway of reputation. A CNN manufacturer wishes her to release a television exhibit known as The Scarpetta Factor. however the glare of the highlight can make Kay a aim for the very killers she could placed in the back of bars...

Show description

Read more

Go Kill Crazy!

By Bryan Smith

“It’s a man’s world,” in accordance with the outdated asserting. yet a lady gang with out inhibitions in terms of intercourse and violence could disagree. Dez, Echo, and Lana are former strippers with deadly curves and undesirable intentions. jointly they embark on a wild cross-country orgy of crime, leaving rivers of blood and lumps of bullet-riddled our bodies of their wake. realizing they're destined to die young--and most likely violently—the ladies get their kicks whereas they could, by no means suspecting they're on a collision direction with infamous cult guru John Wayne de Rais and his fanatical fans. Buckle your seatbelts and dangle on tight, simply because issues are approximately to get loopy for the sexiest thrill killers the area has ever obvious.

Show description

Read more

Organized Crime, Corruption and Crime Prevention: Essays in Honor of Ernesto U. Savona

​​​This quantity collects new contributions to analyze on mafias, equipped crime, cash laundering, and other kinds of complicated crimes, collecting probably the most authoritative and famous students within the box. The chapters for this quantity are unique peices written in honor of the retirement of Dr. Ernesto U. Savona, highlighting his learn and legacy. all through his educational profession, Professor Ernesto U. Savona has investigated advanced crimes starting from equipped crime, to monetary crime, to funds laundering. In his paintings, he has attempted to assemble lecturers, coverage makers, and practitioners to convey figuring out for crime difficulties and leading edge recommendations. His ardour in the direction of the sensible program of the findings of medical examine led him to came across Transcrime in 1994, that's this day one of the most crucial criminological think-tanks in Europe.This vital book is aimed at scholars learning legal coverage and learn, quite within the parts of felony networks, prepared crime, white collar crime, the background of criminology.

Show description

Read more

Insult to Injury: Rethinking our Responses to Intimate Abuse

By Linda G. Mills

Locking up males who beat their companions feels like a big development over the times while males may well hit ladies with impunity and girls fearing for his or her lives may possibly anticipate no support from gurus. yet does our procedure of requiring the arrest, prosecution, and incarceration of abusers decrease family violence or aid battered ladies? during this already arguable yet very important publication, we study that the felony justice process may very well be making the matter of household violence worse. having a look truthfully at uncomfortable evidence, Linda generators makes the case for a whole overhaul and provides a promising replacement.

The proof turns up a few dazzling proof concerning the complexities of intimate abuse, proof that run opposed to mainstream assumptions: the present approach robs battered girls of what energy they do carry. maybe as many as 1/2 girls in abusive relationships remain in them for robust cultural, fiscal, non secular, or emotional purposes. Jailing their companions usually makes their occasions worse. girls are not less than as bodily violent and emotionally competitive as are males towards ladies, and women's aggression is usually vital to the dynamic of intimate abuse.

Informed by way of compelling proof, own adventure, and what abused ladies themselves say approximately their wishes, generators proposes not less than a essentially new method. Addressing the true dynamics of intimate abuse and incorporating confirmed tools of restorative justice, Mills's method makes a speciality of therapeutic and transformation instead of disgrace or punishment. Already the topic of heated controversy, Insult to damage bargains a desperately wanted and strong capacity for utilizing what we all know to lessen violence in our homes.

Show description

Read more

Frozen Heat (A Castle Book)

By Richard Castle

NYPD murder Detective Nikki warmth will get extra secret than she imagined whilst she arrives at her newest crime scene. The physique of an unidentified lady has been came across stabbed to loss of life and crammed within a suitcase left sitting on a new york road. A startling sufficient demise, yet a bigger surprise comes whilst this new murder strangely connects to the unsolved homicide of Detective Heat's personal mom. The grotesque killing of this Jane Doe launches warmth on a deadly and emotional research, rekindling the chilly case that has haunted her when you consider that she was once nineteen. Paired once more together with her romantic and investigative companion, best journalist Jameson Rook, warmth works to resolve the secret of the physique within the suitcase whereas she additionally digs into unexplored components of her mother's background-areas Nikki has been afraid to confront earlier than, yet now needs to.

Facing relentless threat as a person goals her for the subsequent kill, Heat's seek will unearth painful kinfolk truths, reveal a startling hidden lifestyles, and reason Nikki to reexamine her personal previous. Heat's passionate quest takes her and Rook from the again alleys of new york to the avenues of Paris, attempting to capture a ruthless killer. The query is, now that her mother's chilly case has all at once thawed, will Nikki warmth ultimately be capable to clear up the darkish secret that has been her demon for ten years?

Show description

Read more

Fleshmarket Alley (A Rebus Novel)

By Ian Rankin

An unlawful immigrant is located murdered in an Edinburgh housing scheme. Rebus is drawn into the case, yet has different difficulties: his outdated police station has closed for company, and his masters might fairly he retire than stick round. yet as Rebus investigates, he needs to care for the sleazy Edinburgh underworld, and perhaps even fall in love.

Show description

Read more

I Remember You: A Ghost Story

I be mindful You gained the Icelandic Crime Fiction Award and in addition used to be nominated for The Glass Key Award.

In this terrifying story, 3 neighbors started working renovating a rundown condominium in a distant, absolutely remoted position. yet they quickly observe they aren't as on my own as they concept. whatever wishes them to depart. in the meantime, in a close-by city, a tender health care professional investigating the suicide of an aged lady discovers that she used to be keen about his vanished son. whilst the 2 tales collide, the surprising fact turns into horribly clear.

In the vein of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist in part according to a real tale, is the scariest novel but from Yrsa Sigurdardóttir, who has captivated the eye of readers world wide together with her secret sequence that includes lawyer Thora Gudmundsdottir. Now, Yrsa will stun readers once more with this out-of-this-world ghost tale that might go away you shivering.

Show description

Read more

Gang Leader for a Day: A Rogue Sociologist Takes to the Streets

A New York Times Bestseller
Foreword through Stephen J. Dubner, coauthor of
Freakonomics

When first-year graduate scholar Sudhir Venkatesh walked into an deserted development in a single of Chicago’s so much infamous housing initiatives, he was hoping to discover a number of humans prepared to take a multiple-choice survey on city poverty--and provoke his professors together with his boldness. He by no means imagined that due to this project he may befriend a gang chief named JT and spend the higher a part of a decade embedded contained in the tasks lower than JT’s defense. From a privileged place of remarkable entry, Venkatesh saw JT and the remainder of his gang as they operated their crack-selling company, made peace with their acquaintances, refrained from the legislation, and rose up or fell in the ranks of the gang’s advanced hierarchical constitution. analyzing the morally ambiguous, hugely difficult, and infrequently corrupt fight to outlive in an city warfare sector, Gang chief for a Day additionally tells the tale of the complex friendship that develops among Venkatesh and JT--two younger and impressive males a universe apart.

"Riveting." --The big apple Times

"Compelling... dramatic... Venkatesh supplies readers a window right into a lifestyle that few americans understand." --Newsweek

"An eye-opening account into an underserved urban in the city." --Chicago Tribune

"The fulfillment of Gang chief for an afternoon is to provide the dry facts a uncooked, beating heart." --The Boston Globe

"A wealthy portrait of the city poor, drawn now not from information yet from viivd stories in their lives and his, and the way they intertwined." --The Economist

"A sensative, sympathetic, unpatronizing portrayal of lives which are ususally neglected or lumped into ill-defined stereotype." --Finanical Times

Sudhir Venkatesh’s most modern booklet Floating urban: A Rogue Sociologist misplaced and located in New York’s Underground Economy--a memoir of sociological research revealing the genuine face of America’s such a lot different city--was released in September 2013 by means of The Penguin Press

 
 

Show description

Read more

Blue Murder

By Colin Watson

Fearless journalist Clive Grail is bent on uncovering a scandal of blue motion pictures and blackmail in first rate Flaxborough. but if he publishes his revelations of the town's murky prior he reveals himself on the hub of a way more chilling and sinister crime.

Show description

Read more